Once upon a time…

Everything is the same.

All system. everything.

I have not searched far enough, dug deep enough nor toiled hard enough but I have come to this conclusion that everything is the same. At the same time, it’s all so different too.

I have just passed my PALS (Pediatric Advanced Life Support) class. And one of the concepts that have remained well in my mind is this: You have to fill the pipe so you can have something to pump and you have to pump what is in the pump to have it going. It’s an easier way of saying that you have to fill the blood vessels with fluid before you can administer vasoconstrictor  to pump it, and you cannot just administer fluid with a weak heart without aiding it with vasoconstrictor to help pump the fluid.

Now, as I was trying to unwind, I resolved to write. I started with “Once upon a time….” and I realized my tank is empty. There is nothing I can pump. Ooops, did I just talk PALS? It’s all the same. Principle wise. Writing, nursing, travelling, investing, cooking, relationships, education, government. The science of it all. But at the same time, it’s way different. Where one ends and one begins, I guess that’s where our persona exist. And here I am just as I am, unable to continue that sentence, “Once upon a time…”

Once upon a time book cover

Leave a Reply

